The ”Switch User” feature was something that came in Windows XP but is also implemented in Windows Vista and Windows 7. It enables one user to switch to another user without ending their session. It can be very useful feature but if you have a shared PC where there are applications that can’t and should not have simultanious sessions running of them on the same PC you’ll want to turn it off. This is also something that works on Windows Vista as well.

If you’re in an enterprise environment the easiest way is to use Group Policies. The other option is to disable it in the registry.

  1. Type GPedit.msc in RUN or Starmenu Searchbox and press Enter. It’ll open Group Policy Editor.
  2. Now go to: Local Computer Policy\Administrative Templates\System\Logon
  3. In the right-side pane, double-click on ”Hide entry points for Fast User Switching” option and set it to Enabled
  4. There you go, the Switch User option is now disabled in the Welcome Screen and the Shutdown menu

Now you can do the same thing in the registry

  1. Type regedit in RUN or Startmneu Searchbox and press Enter.
  2. When the Registry Editor opens go to:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System
  3. In the right-side pane, create a new DWORD value HideFastUserSwitching and set it’s value to 1
  4. Now you’ve done the same as in scenario one but with the difference of using the registry.

/Pouya S.

 

About Pouya

Deploymentspecialist med en gedigen teknisk grund och erfarenhet från flera olika arbetsgivare och uppdrag.

Kommentera

E-postadressen publiceras inte. Obligatoriska fält är märkta *

Post Navigation